Oil Spill Training Centre Accreditation

Accreditation is defined by The Nautical Institute (NI) as the systematic verification of the processes, procedures, methods and techniques employed to deliver maritime-related training product or service in accordance with standards or internationally recognised guidelines defined, often co-developed and approved by the NI and its industry stakeholders. 


Accredited training providers have demonstrated that their product or service meets the standard required for NI accreditation. The accreditation is valid for a period of not more than three years. In some cases, accreditation may also be subject to government regulations and audit.


For oil spill response and related courses accreditation there are two schemes currently in effect operated by the Nautical Institute:-



The Nautical institute’s Accreditation Schemes are recognised by the IMO.  

Details of these are given below:



The UK MCA BEIS  Scheme

The International Scheme


The International Maritime Organization’s International Convention on Oil Pollution Preparedness, Response and Co-operation (OPRC) requires National Authorities to have in place a process of oil spill training to ensure that all involved in the response to a maritime oil spill are adequately trained and prepared for their roles. The UK authorities, UK's Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA) and the UK  Department  of Business, Enterprise and Industrial Strategy (BEIS), have developed standards for such training in the UK that reflect IMO model course content but are tailored to meet UK needs for both ports and harbours and the offshore oil and gas industry.


Position holders in these industries based in the UK  are required to hold certificates bearing the “ Accredited by the Nautical Institute “ logo.

Government inspectors will validate compliance by routine inspection and audit.


Agencies and commercial providers deliver the training according to the Standards set by the UK Agencies.


On behalf of the UK Agencies, The Nautical Institute accredits the training providers to the UK standards provided by the MCA and BEIS and reports to MCA and BEIS on the performance of the scheme overall.


Certain MCA or BEIS level courses course levels are compatible with the IMO levels but not vice versa.



The NI’s International Scheme of accrediation provides a method whereby course providers, wherever they are based can be accredited to internationally recognised Standards, Guidelines or Best Practise documents.


Provided subject matter content can be supported by such an internationally accepted practice then the NI can provide accreditation.

An example would be the oil spill response (OPRC) model courses as published by the IMO.


A provider wishing to be accredited must demonstrate that the technical content described in the guidelines has been applied to the local context of their delivery model i.e. adapted to suit the particular requirements of a country of region or industry.


The Provider must also comply with the NI’s core  requirements relating  to course quality control, facilities, administration, health, safety and instructor’s development skills and knowledge.



This is a copy of the Audit protocol the NI uses when assessing the documents received. It is for the NI to complete and is provided for reference when a provider is compiling their documentation:


NI Accreditation Audit Protocol


For more information about OSR accreditation, please contact